Storm

Storm

A storm is coming. I see it on the horizon. I see its thunderous clouds gather. I see its menace and its power to undo me.

How do I survive it this time?

Provisions. I’ll make sure I’m stocked up with things to feed me while the windows rattle and the roof threatens to rip off and join the wild winds tearing about. Fill my kitchen shelves, my fridge, with wholesome nourishment for my body. Take my supplements. Fill my bookshelves with food for my mind – currently Timothy Keller’s Walking with God through Pain and Suffering has already thrown lifelines. AW Tozer, CS Lewis, all of them within arm’s reach.

Companions. Past losses and grief have shown me to be wise in surrounding myself with godly counsel, seasoned sailors of the high seas of adversity. As this tempest blows in, I will grab hold of the help that is a phone call, an instant message, an email, a coffee date and be deliberate in building meaningful connections around me. And remind myself of Who is in the boat with me….

Anchors. And I will tie myself to the mast, which is Christ. The wounded Lamb, the man of sorrows, acquainted with grief. And look forward to the day that ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.’ (Rev 21:4)

